How emergent dudes silence anyone who’s not them on controversial blog posts and comment threads

“I really think we should have this conversation face to face, like over a beer or two, things can get misconstrued so easily online.”

Yes, that’s why you’re a prolific blogger and also I just made a really good point but I’m a lady and I’m wearing a collar and I just called you out and you are freaking. The Fuck. Out.

7 responses to “How emergent dudes silence anyone who’s not them on controversial blog posts and comment threads

  1. “In my ignorance, I said something oppressive. But if we met face-to-face you would see by my scruffy facial hair, hipster glasses, and interesting cap that I am CLEARLY THE REVOLUTION. And then after a beer I might try to hit on you.”

    • totally posted your hilarious comment on my FB wall with a link to the convo :D. we should have beer sometime!

  2. I particularly like the tags for this post.

    I also laughed with both yours and @aaronheartsjesus’ side comments. Now I’m really curious where this all went down?!

  3. The conversation thread here is a pretty good example of this miserable dynamic: http://www.jesusradicals.com/iconocast-episode-17-stanley-hauerwas/

    but there’s ever, ever, ever so many more.

  4. @locustsadhoney – thanks for the link. I actually had a suspicion this was the site where this happened. It’s unfortunate there can’t be better conversation around the topics you brought up there. But I’m glad for this blog and enjoy the posts you all keep putting up. Keep up the good work.

  5. Yeah, it’s not the only place where that happened, but it’s the most immediate example that came to mind. Lots and lots of fb comment threads also go this way.

    One of the ironies of how the Jesus Radicals convo went down is that the only reason I was on their website at all was because another person who writes for Special Communion had put out an all-call for some help, because she read the thing about the poor, narrativeless, white men, and she had been misquoted as supporting this idea, and she asked other Special Communioners to come and comment on the post because it’s was too much to be on that battlefield alone – she’s had this conversation with “radical” people many times before and it’s intensely scary and erasing for her and she needed some backup. So we arrived, as backup, and you can see what happened there. They treated us like we were just there to scream at them and mess up their website – they behaved in the most silencing and infantile ways in response – when in actuality their site is so hostile and is so very much not safe space that someone we know – someone whose words they were twisting to support their agenda – had to make sure she had support in that space.

    Jesus Radicals is a mess in general – did you read that horrifying anti-feminist, transphobic piece about “how I’m using non-technological birth control in order to stay in touch with God and nature”? And their apparent complete lack of knowledge about anything in real life – like, they write obsessively about things they’ve read, highly detailed theory, and there is an absolute disconnect from the lives of real people. They also contribute to the emergent/”radical” culture that adores Anabaptist traditions, which I find soo ooky. It’s like they unconsciously said, “It’s too freaky to think about the possibility of liberation in movements involving people of color or people outside of Europe or queers or even just loud people…is there one group that has a good and proper European heritage and yet has also experienced oppression so we can talk about the oppression of white people and pretend like we are also oppressed? GOT IT!” It’s sort of like that white people tendency to talk about being Irish or whatever as a way to say, “I’m oppressed too, I can talk about race, because I’m Irish and there used to be anti-Irish laws.” Total derail/way to not be accountable for the fact of white privilege now.

  6. I’m going to be contributing regularly to JR starting in September so if folks want to reach out to me with these kinds of concerns, I’m around @ eda@hopesem.org.