Walmart in East NY: Desperation Exploitation

” With my Walmart job I have been able to get off of welfare and buy my home.”-Walmart Radio Ad

Layout of proposed Gateway Mall II which would contain Walmart

This morning while listening to the radio I heard the above quote in a commercial placed by Walmart. I have been paying close attention to the proposed East New York Walmart, because I was born and raised in this community. I do not think this ad was placed haphazardly, because corporations spend millions on marketing, and psychology is a VERY important aspect of advertising. To place this commercial on New York City’s first and only African-American-owned radio station shows that Walmart knows who it needs to reach to come to East New York, and this commercial hit a couple of targets. East New York is one of the twelve communities in New York City that sends the most people to prison; the community has very high poverty and violence rates. Walmart is very familiar with these statistics and the desperation that residents face, and it is exploiting this desperation.

For the entire post visit: A New & Unsettling Force.

Comments are closed.